An auto insurance claim is a request made to an insurance company for compensation, typically after an accident or other incident. In the wake of a vehicular accident, it can be easy to get overwhelmed, lose your composure, or forget all of the necessary steps to take, but you can’t forget to file an insurance claim. Insurance claims can cover damages sustained after a car accident or for representation or intervention on the insured’s behalf when they are liable for damages. Car repairs can be expensive, after all, so if you are involved in an accident, you will want to know how to file an insurance claim with your New Jersey personal auto insurance provider.
Learn what to do now, before an accident happens. That way, if anything should happen to you on the road, you’ll be well-researched and ready to jump into action, making the aftermath as painless and stress-free as possible.
Contact the Police
Immediately after a car accident, you will want to begin the claims process by contacting the police. It is likely that you will be flustered after a car accident and may not be in the best position to assess what’s happened. It is always smart to have an officer take down the details of the accident or incident in the police report.
In the event that the other party becomes difficult, the police will be there to ensure you are safe. An officer can also make sure ambulances or emergency services are there to handle injuries or dangerous damage such as leaking fuel or oil. After the fact, the police report is very helpful in filing your claim.
Call Your Insurance Company
Contact your insurance company as soon as it is safe to do so from the scene of the accident. They will walk you through the next steps and tell you what information you must provide them to proceed with a claim.
If your car is not drivable, your insurer can advise you on the next steps such as transportation for you and your car. Depending on your particular policy coverage, your insurer may be able to arrange for your car to be towed, as well as reserve a rental car for you. Your personal auto insurance will be a great asset to your wallet!
Many states have laws for reporting accidents to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or the police. For example, here in New Jersey, you must report an automobile accident to the New Jersey MVC Agency is the accident causes injury, death, or property damage over $500. Make sure that you fully understand your legal responsibilities and follow all the legal requirements. If you are not sure, you can ask your insurance agent.
Having your car accident information list ready will help you keep track of the information you need to file your auto insurance claim. It is important to document the details of the accident and be ready to provide them to your New Jersey personal auto insurance agent. We know, it can be tough to remain organized after getting into an accident, but your bank account (and your stress levels) will thank you!
About Provident Protection Plus
At Provident Protection Plus, we have served the businesses and residents of New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania for more than 65 years. We are a wholly-owned subsidiary of Provident Bank, the region’s premier banking institution, and we are prepared to offer you personal, business, employee benefits, and risk management solutions. To learn more about our coverage options, contact our specialists today at (888) 990-0526.